Poem: Thoughts in a Bottle

Posted: May 11, 2015 in Uncategorized

Ocean’s edge finds me
in darkness on the sand.
Foaming waves tickle my toes
and salt slithers against baked skin.

Salt is in the air and I inhale invigoration.

Rhythm of the waves is hypnotic.
Its sounds crash with anger against
a rocky shoreline.
All are a part of night’s
ambiance under the moonlight
of a million stars.

Moon’s aura is derivative
and ebbs and wans to and fro.
Moonlight touches blackwater
distributing grays, seaweed,
and an unseen vileness of the night.

I am fearul that unseen arms
will wrench me away from the sea.
Thoughts are penned and
sealed in a bottle. One toss
and it is carried out with the tide.

I sigh and wish to be tiny
and fit into that bottle,.
Alas, I am no enchantress.

The bottle tarries where
I cannot go–over turbulent seas
to wash ashore among strangers
who whisper in different tongues.

No utterance needed for we are in the mind.

Comments
  1. loricarlson66 says:

    beautiful! I love your vivid imagery!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, imagery can make or break a piece of work. One of my professors started us out with simple exercises such as she’s have volunteers to show certain emotions. She was big on imagery and it kinda stuck.

      Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 says:

        Yeah, one of my college professors was big on imagery too… she really helped shape my poetry.

        Like

      • During my poetry studies, one of my professors was difficult to understand because of his genius. He often grew frustrated when his class, of about eighteen, had blank faces with not understanding his method of teaching foot and meter. He was a brilliant one who had completed much academically and professionally. He had us keep intensive journals each class of what we learned. At the end of the semester, our final was to put it all in a notebook for him to grade. I was fortunate to get a B+. That’s when I switched to fiction, yet I am trula a much better poet than writing a novella, or novel. I mentioned within this blog about my tendancy to be pulled back into poetry; therefore, I tend to write more poems on this blog.

        Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 says:

        Ughhsss… foot and meter. It is the bane of my society! I am glad you still write poetry… you do it very well. Maybe back then you weren’t ready for it and now you are.

        Like

Leave a Reply

