Honesty=Foundation

Posted: June 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Truth or Dare.”

Honesty

Born in Mississippi and raised in Tennessee I led a sheltered life where my siblings and I knew the consequence of not being honest. A lie was never an option.
Rather than give someone an answer that he or she was uncomfortable with, I would usually say nothing, change the subject, or just go with the ring around the rosy approach.

Daddy instilled honesty and truth into my siblings and me since existence. There were times when it got me into a world of trouble like I risked being damned if I wasn’t truthful, but I’ve never been otherwise. For instance, at five my parents asked who hit my little brother over the head with a shovel–of course I said “I did it,” while I ran to hide under the crawl space of the house, following my admission.

Honesty is all I’ve ever known and the ones who go against the grain and do the opposite have the potential to make a lot of trouble for themselves and the rest of us. A lie is a lie, no matter what color it is.

Daddy was a fanatic about honesty and truth, so my brothers and I were invisibly branded for life, into his way of thinking. Honesty worked for him and gave him a long, happy and successful life, and many friends, but I can’t say the same thing for myself.

I’ve lost friends from telling it like it is when confronted with a question resulting in an answer someone didn’t like or couldn’t deal with. I am not the type of person to tell anyone a lie to bolster their ego on any matter just to make him or her feel better. If I say I like your work or leave a comment, I know what I’m talking about. It’s up to the individual to make themselves feel better–not me. If that sounds harsh; it is what it is, but I am honest and fair.

In all the amazing years under Daddy and Mother’s wings, I never heard Daddy utter one lie. His and my last conversation, before he became ill, could have contained something he didn’t know wasn’t true, so I don’t consider that a lie. I asked him if he was gonna be here for me tomorrow and he said of course he was. He had no idea he would have a stroke during minor surgery and be gone within two weeks.

I’m a bit jaded in some respects when I consider family history contributes and is the foundation to the way we are in our present lives. I have two brothers and two sisters and I have to be honest here with the cruel reality that one sister never learned honesty or truth–to this very day. She chose to be a dishonest person and to lie. Because of this, she has led a miserable life in the process. Switched at birth? My family will never know, but she has always been like a complete stranger in comparison to my brothers and me. Mind you, she was brought up as an only child and never knew the stability and support of our brothers and me, but my son is an only child and he doesn’t lie. Then again, people have a choice but it still comes back to family being the foundation of the person we become. Our parents did all the right things in raising her, but she wanted and chose the way she is.

Honesty, truth, or the opposite is such a large field of corn to pluck individual ears from.
Copyright © wynsharp 2015

Comments
  1. DELL CLOVER says:

    I agree–a lie is a lie, no matter what color it is. And lies of omission are equally onerous to those of commision–in my book.

    Like

  2. I love the phrase “large field of corn.” Also, it was great to see an appreciation of Bernard Malamud on your site.

    Like

  3. I have to commend you for always going with the truth no matter what. it is a very hard thing to do without hurting the recipient at times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

